What if you would like to learn to suck dick? Well, apparently you should opt for a degree in male studies…

Who knew we needed a new academic discipline to learn how to suck dick?

While away from the blogosphere for several days, it seems I have been infected by a virulently misogynistic troll. Said commenter has littered comment threads with reference to “Male Studies” and lovely comments such as “Hello again Sexist/Bigot/Fascist!” and “Male Studies will begin this year at the OnStep Institute. Suck my dick.”

Who knew we needed a new academic discipline to learn how to suck dick?

Said commenter also claims patriarchy does not exist and refers to me repeatedly as a bigot. Hmmm, seems that his male studies curriculum might need to include a “how to read the dictionary 101” course.

I am certainly devoted to my feminist opinions and analysis, but I do not consider myself intolerant of other opinions. I do not, for example, go trolling on men’s rights websites and leave hateful comments. I do not treat others with hatred and intolerance in the way this commenter has repeatedly done at this site (and I assume at other feminist blogs as well).

I debated whether to approve the repeated hateful comments. In the end, I decided not to trash them even though they are bigoted and hateful. To do so would be to go against my belief that open dialogue is necessary and that even those ignorant of their own misogyny deserve to be part of the conversation. Granted, I wish commenters such as the one currently trolling this blog would make better use of their and my own time – what is the point of visiting openly feminist blogs only to spew hate and try to advertise male studies? News flash buddy, we are not interested in buying what you are selling! (And, I think you may have to learn to suck your own dick as I doubt anyone is interested… View the film Shortbus for some pointers in this department…)

10 thoughts on “What if you would like to learn to suck dick? Well, apparently you should opt for a degree in male studies…”

  1. Great post. Personally, I don’t believe that people engaging in abusive behaviours get to be part of a conversation, but I think leaving the posts up are great “proof” of everything you are talking about.

    I have to remind myself not to feed the trolls. They aren’t worth it.

    I am reminded of a women’s reproductive choice agency that wouldn’t participate in pro/anti choice debates because for them, women’s right to reproductive choice wasn’t a debatable discussion. I really liked that approach. Once again, I need to remind myself to do the same!

    Hope life is treating you well, Professor!

  2. Kudos for leaving Said Commenter’s dreck there. The words “hoisted” and “petard” come to mind, and the lack of logic and maturity only serve to emphasise how beautifully constructed and written this blog is.

  3. Good post, sorry to hear about the infestation.

    I don’t let the race-related counterparts through on my blog (i.e., overt and obstinate racists), mostly because I see no need to subject my POC readers to their bitter spewings. I’ve gathered that POC know very well both that the haters are out there, and what they have to say.

    1. Thanks, Macon! Perhaps I should take a note from your book and not let the overt and obstinate sexists into comment threads…

  4. Esteban Herrera, Global Technical Optimization (CTO) Engineering Director for Electronics and Terminal and Connectors at Lear is DEAD ON ARRIVAL in the Hospital

Leave a Reply

