Buffy vs Edward (Twilight Remixed) offers a great feminist ‘re-mix’ of the decidedly non-feminist Twilight.

As the re-mix envisions, Buffy teaches Edward a thing or two, telling him “You know being stalked isn’t really a turn on for girls.” (Come to think of it, Bella needs to hear this one too – maybe Buffy could convince the wilting wallflower Bella to respond to Edward’s bedroom intrusions with her “get out or I will drop you out head first” comeback.)

Ah, from Buffy to Bella – from strong, smart, witty slayer to oh-I-am-soooo-clumsy Bella – we are decidedly stepping backwards as far female role models go.

8 thoughts on “What if Twilight was given a Buffy twist?

  1. So awesome. Thank you for sharing. I’ll also be posting this video on my blog. My sister is a hardcore Twilight fan (and for the record, I’ve read the whole series too and watched the movie). Even though we don’t see eye to eye on feminist basic human rights issues, I still think she’ll like this.

  2. I just forwarded this video to every Twilight-loving female I know. I’ve always argued with my Twilight-fan mother over whether or not the books/film were sexist. This video makes it kind of hard to ignore.

  3. Interesting, though, how you have to rip into the Bella character for nothing more than not making decisions you want her to.

    I thought feminism was about having a choice? Feminists seem to only support choice when women make the choices they want them to.

  4. I have never seen Twilight, but I am always leery of anything that sweeps hordes of people in that–I guess I should see it before i pass judgment, but honestly, aren’t vampires so overdone since Rice?
    Christina

    1. Thanks so much. I haven’t posted anything new in awhile, and you have inspired me to do so. I am thinking about a piece on Fox’s Glee.

Leave a comment